Which Team has won most Spanish La Liga titles in history

Real Madrid or Barcelona? Which club has won the most titles in La Liga?

2021/22 La Liga champions Real Madrid

La Liga is the name for Spain’s top-flight league and it is competed by 20 teams. Since it inception many club’s have won it but which team holds the most titles.

The Primera División in Spain was founded in 1929 under the confederation of UEFA.

On the international front, club’s from La Liga can contest in the Uefa Champions League, Uefa Europa League and UEFA Europa Conference League.

Who is current champion of Spanish La Liga?

Being contested by 20 professional club’s, the La Liga has seen many winners over the course of the years.

Real Madrid stands as the current champions of the competition after winning the 2021/22 edition.

Who are Spanish La Liga past winners and runners-up?

2018/19BarcelonaAtletico Madrid
2017/18BarcelonaAtletico Madrid
2016/17Real MadridBarcelona
2015/16BarcelonaReal Madrid
2014/15BarcelonaReal Madrid
2013/14Atletico MadridBarcelona
2012/13BarcelonaReal Madrid
2011/12Real MadridBarcelona
2010/11BarcelonaReal Madrid
2009/10BarcelonaReal Madrid
2008/09BarcelonaReal Madrid
2007/08Real MadridVillarreal
2006/07Real MadridBarcelona
2005/06BarcelonaReal Madrid
2004/05BarcelonaReal Madrid
2002/03Real MadridReal Sociedad
2001/02ValenciaDeportivo La Coruna
2000/01Real MadridDeportivo La Coruna
1999/00Deportivo La CorunaBarcelona
1998/99BarcelonaReal Madrid
1997/98BarcelonaAthletic Bilbao
1996/97Real MadridBarcelona
1995/96Atletico MadridValencia
1994/95Real MadridDeportivo La Coruna
1993/94BarcelonaDeportivo La Coruna
1992/93BarcelonaReal Madrid
1991/92BarcelonaReal Madrid
1990/91BarcelonaAtletico Madrid
1989/90Real MadridValencia
1988/89Real MadridBarcelona
1987/88Real MadridReal Sociedad
1986/87Real MadridBarcelona
1985/86Real MadridBarcelona
1984/85BarcelonaAtletico Madrid
1983/84Athletic BilbaoReal Madrid
1982/83Athletic BilbaoReal Madrid
1981/82Real SociedadBarcelona
1980/81Real SociedadReal Madrid
1979/80Real MadridReal Sociedad
1978/79Real MadridSporting Gijon
1977/78Real MadridBarcelona
1976/77Atletico MadridBarcelona
1975/76Real MadridBarcelona
1974/75Real MadridZaragoza
1973/74BarcelonaAtletico Madrid
1972/73Atletico MadridBarcelona
1971/72Real MadridValencia
1969/70Atletico MadridAthletic Bilbao
1968/69Real MadridLas Palmas
1967/68Real MadridBarcelona
1966/67Real MadridBarcelona
1965/66Atletico MadridReal Madrid
1964/65Real MadridAtletico Madrid
1963/64Real MadridBarcelona
1962/63Real MadridAtletico Madrid
1961/62Real MadridBarcelona
1960/61Real MadridAtletico Madrid
1959/60BarcelonaReal Madrid
1958/59BarcelonaReal Madrid
1957/58Real MadridAtletico Madrid
1956/57Real MadridSevilla
1955/56Athletic BilbaoBarcelona
1954/55Real MadridBarcelona
1953/54Real MadridBarcelona
1951/52BarcelonaAthletic Bilbao
1950/51Atletico MadridSevilla
1949/50Atletico MadridDeportivo La Coruna
1946/47ValenciaAthletic Bilbao
1944/45BarcelonaReal Madrid
1943/44ValenciaAtletico Aviacion
1942/43Athletic BilbaoSevilla
1941/42ValenciaReal Madrid
1940/41Atletico AviacionAthletic Bilbao
1939/40Atletico AviacionSevilla
1938/39Spanish Civil War
1937/38Spanish Civil War
1936/37Spanish Civil War
1935/36Athletic BilbaoReal Madrid
1934/35Real BetisReal Madrid
1933/34Athletic BilbaoReal Madrid
1932/33Real MadridAthletic Bilbao
1931/32Real MadridAthletic Bilbao
1930/31Athletic BilbaoRacing Santander
1929/30Athletic BilbaoBarcelona
1929BarcelonaReal Madrid
Real Madrid holds the record as the team with most La Liga titles

Which club has won most Spanish La Liga titles?

Real Madrid holds the record as the team with most La Liga titles, after winning the trophy for an unprecedented 35 times.

Rivals Barcelona sit second with 26 honours while City rivals Atletico Madrid are third, after lifting the Spanish top-flight on 11 occasions.

Athletic Bilbao are fourth in the pecking order with 8 trophies.

Who are the top 10 all-time goalscorers in La Liga?

FC Barcelona legend Lionel Messi lead the line after netting a whopping 474 strikes between 2004 and 2021 having played 520 games for the Catalan side.

Second to Messi is Real Madrid icon Cristiano Ronaldo. The Portuguese found the back of the net on 311 occasions in 292 outings between 2009 and 2018.

He averages 1.06 goal per game, the most by every player in the competitions history.

1Lionel Messi4745202004–2021
2Cristiano Ronaldo3112922009–2018
3Telmo Zarra2512781940–1955
4Hugo Sanchez2343471981–1994
5Raul Gonzalez2285501994–2010
6Alfredo Di Stefano2273291953–1966
7Cesar Rodriguez2233531939–1955
10Edmundo Suarez1952311939–1950

Which player has won Spanish League titles most?

Real Madrid legend Paco Gento is the most most decorated player in the history of the Spanish League after winning 12 titles.

Next to him is Lionel Messi, the Argentine won 10 La Liga trophies between 2004 and 2021.

All in all Real Madrid holds the record for most La Liga titles won by a single team, while Lionel Messi’s 474 goals put him as the competitions all time top scorer.

Spanish La Liga all time top scorer Lionel Messi