Manchester City star De Bruyne crowned PFA Player of the season

Manchester City midfielder Kevin De-Bruyne has been named the 2020 Professional Footballer’s Association Player of the year following a good run of form with the club.

De-Bruyne and City finished second in the just ended Premier League campaign, trailing eventually champions Liverpool 18 points, however, the 29-year-old was in an exceptional form for Man City, scoring 13 goals and equalling Thiery Henry’s record of most assists in a single Premier League campaign with 20 assists.

The Belgian picked up the award, after emerging on top after the voting, beating competitions from Sadio Mane, Virgil van Dijk, Jordan Henderson and Trent Alexander-Anold to become the first Manchester City player to win the PFA Player award.

After picking up the award De-Bruyne heaped praises on Guardiola saying: “most of the time he just let me be me, we speak often about the team but in a lot of senses he knows when he gives the orders of what the team has to do, I will listen.”

“He gives me a lot of freedom, I don’t know why, that’s just the way it goes between us and he knows I will always put the team first and then obviously if I can help myself I am going to do that.”

At the same time, Liverpool’s Alexander-Arnold was also adjudged the PFA Young Player of the year following a terrific run of form for the Reds in their title winning campaign, playing a big part in the clubs 12 clean sheet as well as managing 13 assists, with four goals.

Trent Alexander-Anold named PFA Young Player of the Year

In addition, Manchester United’s Marcus Rashford also received the PFA merit award for his humanitarian works helping combat child poverty during the lockdown period following the COVID-19 pandemic outbreak.

Premier League team of the Year

Nick Pope (Burnley)

Trent Alexander-Anold (Liverpool)

Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool)

Caglar Soyuncu (Leicester City)

Andrew Robertson (Liverpool)

David Silva (Man City)

Jordan Henderson (Liverpool)

Kevin De-Bruyne (Man City)

Jamie Vardy (Leicester City)

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Arsenal)

Sadio Mane (Liverpool)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here