Benzema, Mane or Salah| Who will win 2022 Ballon d’Or ?

Which player will win the Ballon d’Or award for the year 2022

The race for 2022 Ballon d’Or is getting heated with the likes of Karim Benzema, sadio Mane and Mo Salah all getting set, but who will win it.

Ballon d’Or is an annual football award presented by French news magazine France Football. It has been awarded since 1956.

In 2010 and 2015, an agreement was made with FIFA, and the award was temporarily merged with the FIFA World Player of the Year and known as the FIFA Ballon d’Or.

With further review, the award has also been moved from yearly to the seasonal calendar.

Which player is likely to win 2022 best player of the year?

For the first time in over a decade, both Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi are not favorite to win the best player of the year award.

The most likely top three candidates are Liverpool duo Sadio Mane and Mohamed Salah and Real Madrid’s Karim Benzema.

Can Sadio Mane win 2022 Ballon d'Or

Will Sadio Mane win the Ballon d’Or?

Sadio Mane led Senegal to it first ever Africa Cup of Nations as well as playing a key part as Liverpool won the EFL Cup and reach the FA Cup final.

In addition, the Senegalese presence in attack for Liverpool has helped them, as they are on course to win the Premier League title and Uefa Champions League.

He also played a key role as Senegal overcame Egypt to qualify for the 2022 Fifa World Cup.

Will Mohamed Salah win the Ballon d’Or?

Despite losing the AFCON 2021 final to club teammate Sadio Mane, Mohamed Salah’s contribution can be downplayed.

Salah has been touted as Liverpool’s engine, saving the Reds on numerous occasions this season.

The Egyptian incisive passes and goals has propelled the Merseyside club into the FA Cup final as they look to clinch their second EPL title and the 2022 UCL trophy.

He also lead the chart as Premier League top scorer for the 2021/22 campaign.

2022 Ballon d'Or contender Mohamed Salah

Will Karim Benzema win Fifa best player award?

Karim Benzema has found his goalscoring boot following the departure of Cristiano Ronaldo.

The Frenchman has been the backbone of Real Madrid this season, after bailing the club on uncountable occasions.

Benzema is currently running in the form of his life. For the first time in his career, he has hit over 40 goals in all competitions.

In addition to that, he played a key role as the Los Blancos clinched the 2022 La Liga title.

Not only in the La Liga, Benzema is also enjoying a stellar season in the Champions League, having helped Madrid eliminate PSG and Chelsea.

Karim Benzema has been tipped to win 2022 Ballon d'Or

Which player has won Ballon d’Or most?

Former Barcelona superstar, Lionel Messi holds the record for most Ballon do’r awards. The Argentine has won it for an unprecedented seven times.

Messi won the first of it many awards in the year 2009, and his last in the year 2021.

Closely following the Lionel Messi is Portugal’s Cristiano Ronaldo.

Ronaldo has been crowned the best player of the world on five different occasions, with his first ward coming in the year 2008.

Seven time Ballon d'Or winner Lionel Messi

List of Men’s Ballon d’Or award winners

2021Lionel MessiArgentinaParis Saint-Germain F.C.
2020not awarded
2019Lionel MessiArgentinaBarcelona
2018Luka ModricCroatiaReal Madrid
2017Cristiano RonaldoPortugalReal Madrid
2016Cristiano RonaldoPortugalReal Madrid
2015Lionel MessiArgentinaBarcelona
2014Cristiano RonaldoPortugalReal Madrid
2013Cristiano RonaldoPortugalReal Madrid
2012Lionel MessiArgentinaBarcelona
2011Lionel MessiArgentinaBarcelona
2010Lionel MessiArgentinaBarcelona
2009Lionel MessiArgentinaBarcelona
2008Cristiano RonaldoPortugalManchester United
2007Kaká BrazilMilan
2006Fabio CannavaroItalyReal Madrid
2004Andriy ShevchenkoUkrainMilan
2003Pavel NedvědCzech RepublicJuventus
2002RonaldoBrazilReal Madrid
2001Michael OwenEnglandLiverpool
2000Luís FigoPortugalReal Madrid
1998Zinedine ZidaneFranceJuventus
1996Matthias SammerGermanyBorussia Dortmund
1995George WeahLiberiaMilan
1994Hristo StoichkovBulgariaBarcelona
1993Roberto BaggioItalyJuventus
1992Marco van BastenNetherlandsMilan
1991Jean-Pierre PapinFranceMarseille
1990Lothar MatthäusGermanyInternazionale
1989Marco van BastenNetherlandsMilan
1988Marco van BastenNetherlandsMilan
1987Ruud GullitNetherlandsMilan
1986Igor BelanovSoviet UnionDynamo Kyiv
1985Michel PlatiniFranceJuventus
1984Michel PlatiniFranceJuventus
1983Michel PlatiniFranceJuventus
1982Paolo RossiItalyJuventus
1981Karl-Heinz RummeniggeWest GermanyBayern Munich
1980Karl-Heinz RummeniggeWest GermanyBayern Munich
1979Kevin KeeganEnglandHamburg
1978Kevin KeeganEnglandHamburg
1977Allan SimonsenDenmarkBorussia M”nchengladbach
1976Franz BeckenbauerWest GermanyBayern Munich
1975Oleg BlokhinSoviet UnionDynamo Kyiv
1974Johan CruyffNetherlandsBarcelona
1973Johan CruyffNetherlandsBarcelona
1972Franz BeckenbauerWest GermanyBayern Munich
1971Johan CruyffNetherlandsAjax
1970Gerd MüllerWest GermanyBayern Munich
1969Gianni RiveraItalyMilan
1968George BestNorthern IrelandManchester United
1967Flórián AlbertHungaryFerencv rosi TC
1966Bobby CharltonEnglandManchester United
1964Denis LawScotlandManchester United
1963Lev YashinSoviet UnionDynamo Moscow
1962Josef MasopustCzechoslovakiaDukla Prague
1961Omar SívoriItalyJuventus
1960Luis SuárezSpainBarcelona
1959Alfredo Di StéfanoSpainReal Madrid
1958Raymond KopaFranceReal Madrid
1957Alfredo Di StéfanoSpainReal Madrid
1956Stanley MatthewsEnglandBlackpool

The 2022 Ballon d’Or edition is scheduled to take place at the end of the season, but who will win it eventually.

2007 Ballon d'Or winner Ricardo Kaka